Wisborough Green, Sussex Genealogy
|Wisborough Green, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Petworth|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
WISBOROUGH-GREEN (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Petworth, partly in the hundreds of Rotherbridge and West Easwrith, but chiefly in the hundred of Bury, rape of Arundel, West division of Sussex, ten miles West by South from Horsham. At Loxwood-End is a chapel; and there is a place of worship for Independents in the parish.
A history of the Church Wisborough Green St Peter ad Vincula
The Parish Church of St Peter ad Vincula has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Wisborough Green Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
See alsoPetworth Registration District
For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Wisborough Green, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Wisborough Green, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wisborough Green
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 625-629. Adapted 16 May 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.