Witham, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Witham, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Witham

Guide to Witham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Witham, Essex
St Nicholas, Witham, Essex .jpg
St Nicholas, Witham, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Witham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Witham
Registration District Witham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1650
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Witham (St. Nicholas), is a small town, a parish, a sub-district, a district, a hundred, and a division, in Essex. The town is 8 miles NE of Chelmsford. There is a head post-office as well as a railway station. There is an Independent chapel, three other dissenting chapels, and a Roman Catholic chapel. The sub-district contains 7 parishes. The district includes Kelvedon and Cogge. The hundred contains 16 parishes. The division is part of Lexden hundred; and contains 16 parishes.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Witham St Nicholas, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
Witham St Nicholas, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1650-1985 1667-1881 1665-1969
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Witham All Saints, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Witham All Saints, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1837-1968 1859-1957 1813-1878

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241379.


Poor Law Unions

Witham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.