Witheridge, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Witheridge, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Withridge, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Witheridge, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Witheridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union South Molton
Registration District South Molton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Molton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

WITHERIDGE (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of South Molton, hundred of Witheridge, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 8¼ miles (E.) from Chulmleigh. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Witheridge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
WITHERIDGE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1646-1837


IGI 1585-1837
1585-1837


PRTS

1646-1837


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241328.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Witheridge on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 629-633. Date accessed: 06 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.