Withington, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Withington, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Atcham|
|Parish registers: 1591|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1631|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
Withington St John the Baptist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Shropshire, created in 1738 from chapelry in Upton Magna, Shropshire Ancient Parish. WITHINGTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Atcham, Wellington division of the hundred of South Bradford, N. division of Salop, 6¼ miles (E.) from Shrewsbury; containing 219 inhabitants, and comprising about 1100 acres. The Shrewsbury canal passes through. The living is a perpetual curacy; net income, £80; patron and appropriator, the Rector of Upton Magna: there is a parsonage-house, and the glebe contains 35 acres. The church is a plain brick edifice, with a very ancient chancel.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Withington like this:
WITHINGTON, a parish in Atcham district, Salop; on the Shrewsbury canal, 1¾ mile NE of Upton-Magna r. station, and 5¾ E of Shrewsbury. Post town, Upton-Magna, under Shrewsbury. Acres, 1,135. Real property, £1,998. Pop., 232. Houses, 50. The manor belongs to A. W. Corbet, Esq. The living is a p. curacy annexed to Upton-Magna. The church is decayed.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Withington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|WITHINGTON PARISH (1591) Online Records|
Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1631-1868 Marr 1631-1836 Bur 1631-1868
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474582.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-636. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51419 Date accessed: 15 May 2011.
- 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.