Witikon parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Witikon parish

Guide to Witikon parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Witikon originally belonged to the church parish of Grossmünster in the city of Zürich, although it was a filial church and received the right to conduct baptisms in 1598. In 1864, Witikon was established as an independent church parish. In 1934, it was absorbed into the church parish of Neumünster, but became independent again in 1954.

Place Names

Locations within Witikon

Surrounding Parishes

Dübendorf
Fällanden
Hirslanden (Neumünster)
Hottingen (Neumünster)
Maur
Zollikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Witikon:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 591
1637 1185142 2 567
1640 1185143 1 25
1643 1185145 1 27
1657 1185179 1 12
1670 1185155 1 507
1682 1185158 2 429
1699 1185165 1 1121
1710 1185172 2 575
1729 1185173 1 255
1749 1185173 1 279
1759 1185173 1 287

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Witikon families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Witikon prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland