Wiverton Hall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Wiverton Hall, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Wiverton Hall, Nottinghamshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

WIVERTON HALL, with a demesne of 1002 acres of land, an extra-parochial liberty, in the county of Nottingham, 2½ miles (S.) from Bingham. This district, the soil of which is rich, is bounded on the east by the river Smite. [1]

Additional information:

Wiverton Hall is an extra parochial place. the eponymous Hall has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

The civil parish area surrounds the Hall and is between the parishes of Langar cum Barnstone, Nottinghamshire and Tythby with Cropwell Butler, Nottinghamshire

See also Holy Trinity Tythby and St Andrew Langar Wikipedia

The area is now within the modern Wiverton group of ecclesiastical parishes

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wiverton Hall is an extra parochial place

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wiverton Hall

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wiverton Hall in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 21 October 2013.