Wolsingham, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wolsingham, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Wolsingham, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wolsingham, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Weardale
Registration District Weardale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1631
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

WOLSINGHAM (St. Matthew), a market-town and parish, in the union of Weardale, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 10 miles (W. N. W.) from Bishop-Auckland, 16 (W. S. W.) from Durham, and 259 (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information: Wolsingham is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Durham.

Other places in the parish include: Bradley, East Quarter, Nitsley Fell, Park Quarter, South Quarter, Towham, Towlaw, Town Quarter, Wolsingham North Moor, and Wolsingham Park Moor.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/279 1765-1854 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1631-1965 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.


Poor Law Unions

Weardale Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wolsingham on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.