Wombridge, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Wombridge, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wellington|
|Parish registers: 1721|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1809|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Wombridge Abbey|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
WOMBRIDGE (St. Mary and St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Wellington, Wellington division of the hundred of South Bradford, N. division of Shropshire, 3 miles (E.) from Wellington. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Wombridge, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Wombridge, Shropshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1721-1813||1721-1751, 1802-1812, 1814-1836|
Bishop's transcripts held at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1799-1868 Marr 1799-1836 Bur 1799-1868 Missing Bap & Bur 1813, missing Bap & Bur 1837-1855
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474582.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 649-652. Date accessed: 08 May 2012.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
- 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.