Wood Walton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes

Guide to Wood Walton, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Wood Walton or Walton, Wood (St. Andrew), is a parish, in the hundred of Norman-Cross, and the union of Huntingdon, Huntingdonshire, 7 miles N W from Huntingdon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wood Walton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Wood Walton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1754-1875
1754-1875
1754-1812
HUNT

1604-1900
NBI

1604-1900

Original church records are available from the Huntingdon Records Office. To view their available content, Records click here. Additional records are available from the Huntingdon Family History Society.

  • Parish Registers for Wood Walton, 1605-1875 are available on film through a Family History Center and at the Family History Library. The first film number is 1040731.
  • Bishop's transcripts for Wood Walton, 1605-1874 are available on film through a Family History Center and at the Family History Library. The first film number is 1041716.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288838.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wood Walton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.