Woodborough, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Woodborough, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Woodborough St Swithin Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1547|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1623|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
WOODBOROUGH (St. Swithin), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 7 miles (N. E. by N.) from Nottingham. The Wesleyans and the Baptists have each a place of worship. 
Woodborough St Swithun is an Ancient Parish in the Gedling district of Nottinghamshire.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the church Woodborough St Swithun
The church of St Swithun has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Woodborough, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|WOODBOROUGH PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Woodborough St Swithun Baptisms 1547-2006 Marriages 1573-1952 Burials 1782-1894 Bishop's Transcripts 1623- 1835
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Woodborough
Woodborough Parish Church. A transcription of memorial inscriptions, both inside and outside the Church, dating from 1724, although some maybe earlier, giving surname, given names, date of death, and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 21, pages 34-38 , FHL ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 649-652. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.