Woodbridge, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodbridge, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loes
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Woodbridge
Registration District Woodbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1545
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wilford
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

WOODBRIDGE (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Loes, E. division of Suffolk, 7½ miles (E. N. E.) from Ipswich, and 76½ (N. E. by E.) from London. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Woodbridge and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Churchyard - Cemetery

The Cemetery was formed in 1856, when the burial grounds of the Parish Church and Beaumont Chapel were closed by Order in Council. It is situated in a small valley at the south-west side of the town, near the Ipswich road, and consists of about 5 acres of land, 3 of which are set apart for Episcopalians, and 2 acres for Nonconformists. There are two mortuary chapels, one on either side. They are exactly alike, and built of white brick and stone, in the Norman style... William White, 1874 Gazetteer of Suffolk, page 420

Civil Registration

Woodbridge is in Woodbridge district. To search an index of Woodbridge district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Woodbridge St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
WOODBRIDGE ST MARY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1545-1855

FMP 1754-1900


IGI 1545-1876 1545-1875
JOIN
1545-1837

NBI

1545-1880
PALL
1790-1837

TGEN
1545-1837

Parish registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Woodbridge St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOODBRIDGE ST JOHN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1846-1902

Census records

There are census records available for Woodbridge from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Woodbridge Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Squire, David. The Stockburn Family of Kettering. History of Richard Stockburn originally from Wellingborough, and Joyce Jones married 1734, moving to Kettering in 1737, and the history of the family there. One of the descendants moves to Northampton, All Saints, also Boddington, and Suffolk, Woodbridge, Surnames: Joy, Witlark, Turner, Linnell, Wallis and Smith. Article is dated from 1737-1978, and is found in Footsteps, (Northamtonshire Family History Society Mag.) vol14.no.1.page26-30, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.14

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 649-652. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 18 December 2015.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.