Woodham Ferrers, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Woodham Ferrers, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Woodham Ferrers, Essex|
St. Mary Woodham Ferrers Essex
|Poor Law Union||Chelmsford|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Woodham Ferrers or Woodham-Ferrish (St Mary), is a parish with a village, in Chelmsford district, Essex; it is 6 miles SW of Maldon railway station. The post-office is under Chelmsford. There is an Independent chapel and Wesleyan chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Woodham Ferrers, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|EOPC = Essex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Woodham Ferrers, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
South Woodham Ferrers St Mary, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|South Woodham Ferrers St Mary, Essex Parish Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241365.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
- Essex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 4 September 2014.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.