Woodham Mortimer, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodham Mortimer, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Woodham Mortimer

Guide to Woodham Mortimer, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woodham Mortimer, Essex
Woodham Mortimer St Margaret Essex contributor Lynda Poulter.jpg
Woodham Mortimer St Margaret Essex contributor Lynda Poulter
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dengie
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Maldon
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Woodham-Mortimer (St. Margaret), is a parish in Maldon district, Essex; it is 2½ miles SW of Maldon railway station. The post-office is under Maldon.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Woodham Mortimer, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Woodham Mortimer, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1662-1900 1664-1957 1664-1990

Online Images available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office parish regsiters, Bishop's Transcripts, Monumental Inscriptions, 1811,1821,1831 census and transcripts 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241366.

Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.