Woodhorn, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodhorn, Northumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Woodhorn, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woodhorn, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morpeth
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Morpeth
Registration District Morpeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1605; Separate registers exist for Newbiggin by the Sea beginning 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760; Separate records exist for Newbiggin by the Sea beginning 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Morpeth
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Parish History

WOODHORN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union, and E. division of the ward, of Morpeth, N. division of Northumberland, 8 miles (E. N. E.) from Morpeth with the chapelry of Newbiggin, and the townships of Cresswell, Ellington, Hurst, Linmouth, North Seaton, and Woodhorn-Demesne. The church is a very ancient structure in the Norman style, consisting of a nave, aisles, and chancel, and a tower, on the outside wall of which are the armorial-bearings of the Widdringtons and Ogles, with a male figure in the attitude of prayer. There is a chapel of ease at Newbiggin.[1]

Additional information:

Woodhorn St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish and includes: Lynmouth, Newbiggin, Newbiggin by the Sea, Newbiggin near Morpeth, North Seaton, South Linton, West Hartford, Woodhorn Demesne, Bebside, Cowpen, East Hartford, Ellington, Hirst, Hurst, Linmouth, and Lynemouth.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Woodhorn, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = FamilySearch Parish Registers - free[2]
Woodhorn, Northumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/281 Date: July 1760-1878
Contents: Including transcripts from Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, 1828-1868 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Woodhorn, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1605-1973, marriages 1605-1972 and burials 1605-1986 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1605-1812 and marriages 1605-1811 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1606-1812 and banns 1754-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1606-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Woodhorn (microfiche TN93) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Seaton-Hirst, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Seaton-Hirst, Northumberland Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Bowman, John. My Bowman Family in Northumberland and Durham. History and family tree of Mark Bowman and Ruth surname not listed. Dates from 1682-1902, with relatives in Ray, Kirkwhelpington, Hartington, Cambo, Low Angerton, Hartburn and Middleton. Surnames, Beller, Laidler, Charlton, Sinship, angus, Stamper, Hardcastle, Stephenson, Aslin, Fenwick, and Sweeting. Photos included are of 2 gravestones, the marriage of Anna Bowman and the Rev. Harrison Fenwick, John Harcastle Bowman, and Henry Bowman. Article in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journam. vol. 38, no.1. pages 25-29. Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo vol. 38,1. Spring 2013.

Woodger, Janet. and Feather, Mark. Kipper John Woodger (1813-1876) History of family of Nathan Woodger, and Mary nee Lambell, married 1812, their son John born 1813 who moved to Newcastle, to start a successful Kipper business, with descendants moving around Monkwearmouth, London Lowestoft, Newbiggin by the Sea, and Gt Yarmouth. Article dated 1812-1929, and is found in the Journal of the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society. vol26,no4,pages 121-124, Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.26.no.4. Winter 2001

Poor Law Unions

Morpeth Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.