Woodhouse, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodhouse, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Woodhouse, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Woodhouse, Leicestershire
St Mary-in-the-Elms Woodhouse Leicestershire.jpg
St Mary-in-the-Elms Woodhouse, Leicestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1623
Bishop's Transcripts: 1625
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

WOODHOUSE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of West Goscote,N. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (S. W.)from Loughborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Woodhouse St Mary-in-the-Elms was formed as a chapelry of Barrow upon Soar, Leicestershire Ancient Parish and as an Ecclesisatical parish in 1784, located between the larger Woodhouse Eaves Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire and Quorn, Leicestershire villages.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Woodhouse like this:

WOODHOUSE, a township and a chapelry in Barrow-upon-Soar parish Leicester. The township lies 3¾ miles S of Loughborough r. stat ion, and contains a village of its own name.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Woodhouse, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Woodhouse, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1623-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Woodhouse Bap 1623 - 2006 Marr 1623 - 2007 Bur 1623 - 1971

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438744.

Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 654-657. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.