Woodstock, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodstock, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Woodstock, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oxford
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Woodstock
Registration District Woodstock
Records begin
Parish registers: 1651; For more records see Wootton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodstock
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

WOODSTOCK, a borough and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally within the liberty of the city of Oxford, county of Oxford, 8 miles (N. N. W.)from Oxford, and 62 (W. N.W.) from London. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Woodstock, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Woodstock, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1653-1908
1653-1910
1653-1909


Census records

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474577.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 657-661. Date accessed: 03 October 2012.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.