Woodville, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodville, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Woodville, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woodville, Derbyshire
Swadlincote St Stephen the Martyr .jpg
Swadlincote St Stephen the Martyr
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley; West Goscote
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Repton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

WOODVILLE, a chapelry in Ashby-de-la-Zouch and Hartshorn-parishes, Leicester; 3½ miles NW of Ashby-de-la-Zonch r. station. It was constituted in 1847; and it has a post-office under Burton-upon-Trent. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.[1]

WOODVILLE, anecclesiastical district, in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, partly in the parish of Ashbyde-la-Zouch, hundred of West Goscote, county of Leicester, and partly in the parish of Hartshorn, hundred of Repton and Gresley, county of Derby, 3½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Ashby, until lately called Wooden-Box. The Wesleyans have a small place of worship. [2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Woodville chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Woodville St Stephen (1847) Chapelry Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1847-1881 None None None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Woodville St Stephen was formed as a parish in 1847 from parts of Hartshorne, Derbyshire and Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 3420 has deposited registers Bap 1847-1946 Mar 1848-1949 Burial 1847-1941 Banns 1847-1881 1897-1923 1939-1988

Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.

Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Woodville on GENUKI 


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 25 June 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 657-661. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.