Woodville, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodville, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Woodville, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Woodville, Leicestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley; West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

WOODVILLE, an ecclesiastical district, in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, partly in the parish of Ashbyde-la-Zouch, hundred of West Goscote, county of Leicester, and partly in the parish of Hartshorn, hundred of Repton and Gresley, county of Derby, 3½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Ashby. The Wesleyans have a small place of worship.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438744.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel; A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 657-661. Date accessed: 04 September 2012.