Worcester St Mary Cathedral, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Worcester St Mary Cathedral, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Worcester St Mary Cathedral, Worcestershire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Worcester
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Worcester
Registration District Worcester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1693
Bishop's Transcripts: 1702
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

Worcester was first erected into a see in the reign of Ethelred, and, in 679, Bosel was consecrated first bishop. The establishment, which was amply endowed by successive Saxon monarchs, consisted of Secular canons till the eighth century, when a convent, dedicated to St. Mary, was founded near the cathedral of St. Peter, of which Ethelburga was abbess. On her death, the convent was converted into a monastery for monks of the Benedictine order. The disputes which subsequently arose between the Secular clergy and the monks terminated in 969, by the surrender of the church of St. Peter to the latter; and the church of St. Mary became the cathedral of the diocese.[1]

Ecclesiastically an extra-parochial. Civilly not separate but included in Worcester College Precincts Civil Parish. It included: A chapel at Worcester St Alban Ancient Parish, which was a separate parish by 1206. A chapel at Worcester St Helen Ancient Parish, which was a separate parish by the 10th century. A chapel at Spetchley, which was a separate parish by 1291.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Leeds St Peter exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FR = FreeReg.org.uk
FS = FamilySearch.org
WORCESTER ST MARY CATHEDRAL (1693) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1693-1811 None 1693-1753 (part.) None Add None
FR 1693-1811 1693-1753 1693-1811
Worcester All Saints Parish (1560) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






FS 1560-1874

1560-1797;1814-1837
None

Worcester St Alban Parish (1630) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FR 1630-1812

1630-1812

1630-1812

FS 1630-1874

1630-1880

1749-1779 (part.)

Worcester St Andrew Parish (1656) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1572-1837 None 1572-1837 None 1729;1744-1818 None
Worcester St Clement Parish (1694) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






FS 1608-1875;1888-1894

1608-1884

1746-1838

Worcester St Helen Parish (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






FS 1538-1875

1538-1818 (part.)

1744-1816

Worcester St John Bedwardine Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1559-1874 None 1743-1855 - part. None Add None
Worcester St Martin Parish (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FS 1729-1855

1743-1878

1755; 1778

Worcester St Michael Parish Parish (1546) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






FS 1546-1875

1546-1880

1786-1875

Worcester St Nicholas Parish (1563) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1729-1885 (part.) None 1729-1818 None 1729-1816 None
Worcester St Oswald's Hospital Chapel (1695) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






FS None





Worcester St Paul Chapelry (1845) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






FS 1845-1878

None
None

Worcester St Peter Chapelry (18) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






FS 1746-1755

1746-1750;1755

1790

Blockhouse Chapelry (1845) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images






FS None






Records Location

The original records are held at the Worcestershire Record Office, City Centre Branch (otherwise known as the

Worcestershire Library and History Centre)
Trinity Street
Worcester
WR1 2PW
England Tel: 01905 765922[[Image:]]01905 765922
Fax: 01905 765925
Email: WLHC@worcestershire.gov.uk
Website: Worcestershire Government Uk

For complete information, including map and hours of operation, see National Archives Government Uk Archon

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and the bishop's transcripts. For the parish registers, you will need to look in the FamilySearch Catalog under England, Worcester, Worcester and find St. Martin's mixed in with other parishes for the city of Worcester. The Bishop's Transcripts for Worcester are not filed by parish, but by year for the whole county. Thus, each year's transcripts are on a different film. An FHL finding aid giving FHL film numbers by parish has been compiled and is available as FHL book 942.4 K29bt, also available on microfiche at Family History Centers, fiche 6035756 (2 fiches).

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464215.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 673-687. Date accessed and adapted: 11 December 2013.
  2. http://www.worcesterbmsgh.co.uk/parish/worcester-st-mary-cathedral Date accessed and adapted 11 December 2013.