Workington St John, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Workington St John, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Workington St John, Cumberland|
|Hundred||Allerdale above Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Whitehaven|
|Parish registers: 1753|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1753|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
St. John's district church was erected under the auspices of Her Majesty's Commissioners, the first stone being laid on April 15th,1822. The living is in the gift of the Rector, who also presents to the chapel at Clifton.
WORKINGTON, a town, a parish, and a sub-district, in Cockermouth district, Cumberland. The town stands on the coast, at the mouth of the river Derwent, and on the Maryport and Whitehaven railway, at the junction of the railway to Cockermouth, 7 miles N by E of Whitehaven. There are four dissenting chapels, and a Roman Catholic chapel. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for St. John's Church, Workington, 1824-1889
Bishop's transcripts for St John Workington, 1855-1861
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241277.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Workington on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 Date accessed and adapted 8 July 2013.