Worlaby by Louth, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Worlaby by Louth, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Worlaby by Louth, Lincolnshire
200px
Former St Clement Chapel Worlaby (Ruckland) Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Yarborough
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Glandford Brigg
Registration District Glanford Brigg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yarborough
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Worlaby - BARNET-BY-THE-WOLD (St. Mary), a parish in the union of Glandford-Brigg, S. division of the wapentake of Yarborough, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (E. N. E.) from Glandford-Brigg. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Worlaby by Louth was an extra parochial place (marriages and Burials should be searched in Ruckland with Farforth and Maidenwell, Lincolnshire parish registers) which in the mid 1800's was created as a civil parish. Worlaby was abolished in 1936 to help create Maidenwell Civil Parish.[2]

The chapel of St Clement should not be confused with St Clement Worlaby by Brigg, Lincolnshire

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Louth sub-district of  Louth registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Worlaby by Louth Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Worlaby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438770.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Louth Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/WorlabyLouth/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 14 August 2013.
  2. Youngs, Frederic A. Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol. 2; Northern England. Offices of Royal Historical Society, London: 1991.