Worth County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Worth County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Worth County

Guide to Worth County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Worth County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Worth County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 20, 1853
County Seat Sylvester
Address Worth County Courthouse
 201 N Main Street
Sylvester, GA 31791-2178
Phone. 229-776.8205

County Information

Worth County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Worth County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

County Courthouse

Worth County Courthouse
 201 N Main Street
Sylvester, GA 31791-2178
Phone. (229) 776-8205

Probate Court has birth records from 1897, marriage records from 1854, death records from 1919 and probate records from 1880; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and and records[1]

Worth County Superior Court
201 N. Main Street #13,
Sylvester GA 31791
Telephone: (229) 776-8205

Worth county Probate Court
201 N Main Street #13,
Sylvester, GA 31791
Phone: (229) 776-8205


Parent County

1853--Worth County was created 20 December 1853 from Dooly andIrwin Counties. County seat:  Sylvester [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1879 The courthouse at Isabella was destroyed by fire on 26 and 27 January. All records were lost except one deed book and some marriages.[3]

1880 Fire destroyed the courthouse on 24 October, but the county records survived in the fire-proof vault.[3]
1893 Fire destroyed the courthouse on 9 August. Most probate records were unharmed; only two Superior Court books survived.[3]
1982 Fire burned the courthouse at Sylvester on 27 January. The county's records had been microfilmed only four days prior to this fire.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Colquitt  • Crisp  • Dougherty  • Lee  • Mitchell  • Tift  • Turner

Worth CountyColquitt CountyMitchell CountyBaker CountyDougherty CountyCalhoun CountyTerrell CountyWebster CountySumter CountyCrisp CountyWilcox CountyTurner CountyLee CountyBen Hill CountyIrwin CountyTift CountyBerrien CountyCook CountyGAWorth.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.


  • Jeffery, Alice. Worth County, Georgia Census, 1920 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 1999. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Worth County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Grubbs, Lillie Martin. History of Worth County, Georgia: For the First Eighty Years, 1854-1934. Macon, Ga.: J.W. Burke Co., 1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($).




Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Worth County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Worth County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 10th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Worth County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1865-1905 - Index to Worth County, Georgia Wills, Volume A (1865-1905) at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1863-1885 - Digital Images of Worth County Wills. See names of testators. Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1879-1888 - Index of Worth County, Georgia Annual Returns and Vouchers (1879-1888) at Georgia Pioneers ($).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Worth County Historical Society
PO Box 5073
Sylvester, GA 31791
Telephone Number: 912-776-4481

Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 4672
Albany, GA 31706

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Worth County, Georgia. Page 162 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 62-63. At various libraries (WorldCat).