Wroot, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wroot, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Wroot

Guide to Wroot, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wroot, Lincolnshire
Wroot St Pancras North Lincolnshire.JPG
Wroot St Pancras North Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manley
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Thorne
Registration District Thorne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corringham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

WROOT (St. Pancras), a parish in the union of Thorne, W. division of the wapentake of Manley, with parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (N. E. by N.) from Bawtry. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Epworth sub-district of Thorne (Yorkshire) registration district.registration district

Registers are now held at North Lincolnshire
The Register Office
92 Oswald Road
Scunthorpe
DN15 7PA
01724 843915. registrars@northlincs.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Wroot Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wroot

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438770.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Thorne Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Wroot/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.