Wymeswold, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wymeswold, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Wymeswold, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wymeswold, Leicestershire
St Mary Wymeswold Leicestershire.jpg
St Mary Wymeswold, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Loughborough
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

Wymeswold St Mary is an Ancient parish. St Mary's church was restored in 1844 by A. W. N. Pugin. It contains the Leeke memorial to Judge William Leeke who was Lord of the Manor of Wymeswold in the mid-17th century. His widow presented the church with a silver flagon and paten that are now in the Charnwood museum.

WIMESWOULD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 5¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from Loughborough. There are places of worship for Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Wymeswold like this:
WIMESWOLD, or Wymeswold, a parish, with a village, in Loughborough district, Leicester; 4½ miles NE by E of Loughborough r. station. It has a post-office under Loughborough. Acres, 4,220. Real property, £6,435. Pop., 1,209. Houses, 287. The property is much subdivided. The making of hose and lace is carried on. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Peterborough. Value, £199.* Patron, Trinity College, Cambridge. The church was restored in 1850, at a cost of nearly £3,000. There are three dissenting chapels, a national school, and charities nearly £200.

Wesleyan Chapel Wymeswold Leicestershire.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wymeswold, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Wymeswold, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1560-1910
1560-1910
1560-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Wymeswold Bap 1560 - 1955 Marr 1560 – 2002 (Banns1961) Bur 1560-1959

Non-Conformist records available at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office include:

Wymeswold Wesleyan Methodist (Loughborough Circuit) Bap 1853-1876 reference N/M/207/182

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438743.


Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 584-592. Date accessed: 31 July 2013.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.