Wynford Eagle, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wynford Eagle, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Wynford Eagle, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wynford Eagle, Dorset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tollerford
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Dorchester
Registration District Dorchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754; For more records see Toller Fratrum
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

WINFORD-EAGLE, a chapelry in Toller-Fratrum parish, Dorset; 2 miles SW of Maiden Newton railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Wynford Eagle, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1560
.
Indexes 1847-1880 Ancestry[2] 1560-1810 Joiner[3]
1560-1715 PRTSociety[4]
1655-1715 findmypast[5]

Wynford Eagle, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
Wynford Eagle, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1560-1810

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  4. 'Dorset,' Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 31 July 2012.
  5. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  6. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.