Yafforth, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Yafforth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Northallerton|
|Parish registers: 1675; For more records see Danby Wiske|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1675|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
YAFFORTH, a chapelry, in the parish of Danby Wisk, union of Northallerton, wapentake of Gilling-East, N. riding of York, 1½ mile (W. by N.) from Northallerton.
Yafforth All Saints was originally a chapelry of Danby Wiske, Yorkshire Ancient Parish in Yorkshire dating from 1208.
The Church of All Saints was rebuilt in 1870 and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
The village and civil parish of Yafforth is within the Hambleton district of North Yorkshire
See also Yafforth Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Yafforth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|YAFFORTH CHAPELRY (1674) Online Records|
|| 1678 ,1698-1855
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Danby Wiske to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DANBY WISKE PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1603.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.