Yamhill County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Yamhill County, Oregon)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow-kelly.png Oregon Gotoarrow-kelly.png Yamhill County

Guide to Yamhill County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Yamhill County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Yamhill County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 5, 1843
County Seat McMinnville
Courthouse
Address Yamhill County Courthouse
535 NE 5th Street
McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone: 503.434.7518
Yamhill County Website



County Information


Yamhill County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1871 1856 1850 1852 1849

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1881 and land records from 1853. [1]


  • Records Held at the Courthouse

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Yamhill County Court House as of October 2005.

Lafayette was a former county seat until 1886.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:


Oregon, Yamhill County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Quick Facts

Named for a local Native American tribe, the Yamhill, a part of North Kalapuyan family.

Parent County

5 July 1843: Yamhill county was created from the Oregon Territory. [2]

Boundary Changes

22 December 1845: Polk County set off.

15 December 1853: Tillamook County set off.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Amity | Carlton | Dayton | Dundee | Lafayette | McMinnville | Newberg | Sheridan | Willamina | Yamhill

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Bellevue | Cove Orchard | Dellwood | Dewey | Gopher | Grand Island | Hopewell | Lunnville | Midway | Rex | Riverside | Saint Joseph | Shipley | Springbrook | Sunnycrest | Wapato | Wheatland | Whiteson

Indian Reservation

Grand Ronde Agency (Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community - specifically Chasta, Kalapuya, Molalla, Rogue River, Klickitat, Chinook, Tillamook, French-Canadian (Iroqouian).

Neighboring Counties

Clackamas | Marion | Polk | Tillamook | Washington

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
ORInterment
ORGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1845 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1849 Territorial Transcription and Index

Church History and Records

Court Records

Deeds and Property

Wiki article describing online FamilySearch Historical collecton is found Oregon. Yamhill County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Oryamhill.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. > Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some records such as:

Yamhill County record of deaths 1907-1931, index 1903-1944, coroner's reports 1861-1940

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Yamhill County Historical Society and Museum
605 Market St
McMinnville, OR 97128
Telephone: 503-864-2308
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

Oregon, Yamhill County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Yamhill County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yamhill County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)