Yankton County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Yankton County

Guide to Yankton County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Yankton
Organized: April 10, 1862
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bon Homme  • Cedar (NE)  • Clay  • Hutchinson  • Knox (NE)  • Turner
See County Maps
Courthouse
SouthDakotaYanktonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
SD-yankton.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Yankton Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today



County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Yankton County Courthouse
410 Walnut Street; PO Box 155;
Yankton, SD 57078
Phone: 605.668.3438

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1905 and burial records;
County Treas has marriage records from 1900;
Clerk Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1900;
Director Assessments has land records[2]

Yankton County, South Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1862--Yankton County was created 10 April 1862 from unorganized territory.
  • County seat: Yankton [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[3]

Cities
Towns
Townships
  • Gayville
  • Jamesville
  • Marindahl
  • Mayfield
  • Mission Hill
  • Turkey Valley
  • Utica
  • Volin
  • Walshtown
Unorganized territories
  • Southeast Yankton
  • West Yankton


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Yankton County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Various Yankton County Cemeteries transcriptions which may include the name of deceased, date of death and birth, lot and plot numbers nd age.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 2,097
1880 8,390 300.1%
1890 10,414 24.1%
1900 12,649 21.5%
1910 13,135 3.8%
1920 15,233 16.0%
1930 16,589 8.9%
1940 16,725 0.8%
1950 16,804 0.5%
1960 17,551 4.4%
1970 19,039 8.5%
1980 18,952 −0.5%
1990 19,252 1.6%
2000 21,652 12.5%
2010 22,438 3.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for South Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see South Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of Tradjem Lutheran Church, Yankton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Yankton County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

  • History of Yankton County, South Dakota. 1987. By Yankton County Historical Society. Dallas, Texas : Curtis Media. Online at: ; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Steppes to Neu Odessa : Germans from Russia who settled in Odessa Township, Dakota Territory, 1872-1876. 2002. By Cynthia Anne Frank Stupnik. Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books. Online at: ; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I


Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

South Dakota Newspapers Online

South Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yankton County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Yankton then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Yankton Genealogical Society
Yankton Community Library
515 Walnut St.
Yankton, SD 57078

Yankton County Historical Society
610 Summit
Yankton, SD 57078
Telephone: 605-665-3898
E-mail:info@dakotaterritorialmuseum.org
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Yankton County, South Dakota, p.629
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Yankton County, South Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yankton_County%2C_South_Dakota accessed 7 November 2016.