Yavapai County, Arizona Genealogy
Guide to Yavapai County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Yavapai County, Arizona|
Location in the state of Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
|Founded||One of the original four counties, 1852|
|Address|| Yavapai County Courthouse|
1015 Fair Street
Prescott, Az 86301
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Family History Centers
- 8 Web Sites
- 9 References
Yavapai County, Arizona Record Dates
120 South Cortez St
Prescott, Az 86301
Clerk Superio Court has marriage, divorce probate and court records
County Recorder has land records 
Yavapai County was one of four original counties created by Arizona Territory. It originally covered over 65,000 square miles in size and is believed to be the largest county ever created in the lower 48 States.
Yavapai County came to be known as the “Mother of Counties” because Apache, Coconino, Gila, and Navajo counties were carved from it, plus parts of Greenlee, Graham, Mohave, Maricopa, and Pinal. Today, Yavapai County is 8,125 square miles in size – approximately the same size as the state of Massachusetts!
Yavapai County was also home to Arizona’s first territorial capital, with the provisional seat of the territorial government being established in the Chino Valley area in 1864 and then several months later moved to Prescott. In 1867, the territorial capital was moved to Tucson and ten years later returned to Prescott. In 1889 the capital was moved to Phoenix, where it remains to this day.
- Until 1821 -New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to Mexico Archives and Libraries in Mexico City.
- In 1821 -Mexico; obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona. Records of this period may have been sent to Mexico Archives and Libraries in Mexico City.
- 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over the land that later became the New Mexico; Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico [[Mexico Archives and Libraries|Archives] and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexicoceded part of present day Arizona, including all of present day Yavapai County. Look for records in the <a National Archives and Records Administration the Mexico Archives and theNew Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 9 Jan 1852 - New Mexico redefined the boundaries of previous counties and created new ones to cover all the land within its territory. Land in present day Yavapai County was then part of Socorro County, New Mexico Bernalillo, [[Santa Ana County, New Mexico Genealogy|Santa Ana (extinct)] and Valencia counties.  Look for records in Socorro County, Bernalillo, and Valencia counties.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New MexicoTerritory. All previous counties were discontinued for this new territory. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
- 14 Feb 1871 - Arizona created [Maricopa County, Arizona Genealogy|Maricopa County] from land in Yavapai County. This county named for the Maricopa Indians. Look for records in Maricopaand Yavapai counties.
- 14 Feb 1879 - Arizona created Apache County from land in Yavapai County. This county named for the Apache Indians. Look for records in apache and Yavapai counties.
- 19 Feb 1891 - Arizona created Coconino County from land in Yavapai County. This county named for the Coconino Indians. Look for records in Coconino and Yavapai counties.
See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.
For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Abra||Congress||Glen Oaks||Minnehaha||South Fort|
|Arcosanti||Congress Junction||Goodwin||Mint||Spring Valley|
|Ash Fork||Copperopolis||Grand View||Nelson||Stanton|
|Audley||Cordes||Granite Dells||Oak Creek||Stringfield|
|Aultman||Cordes Junction||Granite Siding||Oak Knoll Village||Sycamore|
|Cordes Lakes||Groom Creek||Ocotillo||Tapco|| |
|Big Park||Cornville||Hawkins||Octave||Tres Rios|
|Big Reef Mill||Cottonwood||Hecla||Packer||Tutt|
|Black Canyon City||Crookton||Highland Park||Page Springs||Venezia|
|Blue Hills Farms||Hillside||Paulden||Verde Village|| |
|Bradshaw City||Dandrea||Hooper||Peeples Valley||Wagoner|
|Briggs||Del Rio||Humbug||Pica||Walnut Grove|
|Bumble Bee||Dewey||Iron Springs||Piedmont||West Sedona|
|Burro John||Dewey-Humboldt||Pinaveta||Whipple|| |
|Diamond Valley||Jordan Meadows||Poland Junction||Wilhoit|| |
|Casa Rosa||Drake||Juniper Heights||Ponderosa Park||Williamson|
|Castle Canyon||Dugas||Kirkland||Potato Patch||Willow Spring|
|Mesa||East Fort||Kirkland Junction||
|Castle Hot Springs||Entro||Lake Montezuma||Prescott Valley||Yampai|
|Cedar Mill||Flores||Lancaster||Red Rock||Yarnell|
|Chino Valley||Flower Pot||Lapham||Rimrock||Yava|
||Forbing Park||Lehman Mill||Rock Springs||Yavapai Hills|
|Clear Creek||Fort Misery||
||Sand Mill|| |
|Cleator||Fort Whipple||McGuireville||Seligman|| |
|Clemenceau||Gillette||Middle Verde||Skull Valley|| |
|Columbia||Glen Ilah||Miller Valley||Smelter city|| |
The Yavapai County Cemetery Database is an accumulation of a cemetery project which began in 1989 by the Northern Arizona Genealogy Society and housed on the Sharlot Hall Museum Archives website at: http://sharlot.org/archives/gene/cemetery/index.html
Prescott National Cemetery: 3,195 Veterans Administration burial records are included. Does not include all burials in the cemetery, only those provided by the VA.
- Arizona Cemetery Transcription and Photo Project
- BillionGraves.com - Provides photos and GPS locations of grave markers.
- Cyndi's List - Cemeteries & funeral homes
- Ferguson-Morrell Cemetery, Prescott
- Humboldt Cemetery, Dewey-Humboldt
- Rolling Hills Cemetery, Prescott
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Arizona Cemeteries for more information.|
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- 1861 - 1865 - Arizona Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Arizona Daily Journal-Miner] - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1900-1902
- http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1paMEeroeoQC Arizona Journal-Miner]; - Google News Archive; covers 1903-1912
- http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1_W9tMSvGuwC Arizona Miner] - Google News Archive; covers 1866-1871
- Arizona Weekly Journal-Miner - Google News Archive; covers 1893-1900
- Arizona Weekly Miner - Google News Archive; covers 1877
From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Subjects Search for Arizona, Yavapai - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Online Birth Indexes and Records
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
4,374 marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
- 1864 - 1982 Arizona Marriage Collection 1864-1982 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1871-1964 Arizona, County Marriages, 1871–1964 at FamilySearch.org — index and browse images, incomplete
- 1888 - 1908 Arizona Select Marriages 1888-1908 at Ancestry.com — index
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1910 - 1911 and 1933 - 1994 Arizona Select Deaths and Burials 1910-1911 and 1933-1994;at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Northern Arizona Genealogical Society Our Society is a general genealogical society covering the counties of Yavapai and Coconino Arizona. Prescott is the county seat for Yavapai County and Flagstaff is the county seat for Coconino County.
Camp Verde Historical Society
435 South Main
Camp Verde, AZ 86322
Hours 11-3 Sat. & Tues
Verde Historical Society
One N. Willard St.
Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Hours 9-12 Wed.; Fri.-Sun. 11-3
Jerome Historical Society
200 Main Street
Jerome, Arizona 86331
Hours 9-4:30 daily
Sharlot Hall Museum Library and Archives 115 S. McCormick St Prescott, Arizona 928-445-3122 ex 14 Hours Wed - Fri Noon - 4 Saturday 10 - 2
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Bagdad, Yavapai, Arizona, United States
1377 Hombre Dr
Cottonwood, Yavapai, Arizona, United States
1001 Ruth St
Prescott, Yavapai, Arizona, United States
Spring Valley Arizona
HWY 69 (2 mi from Cordes Jct)
Spring Valley, Yavapai, Arizona, United States
These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
- Yavapai County, AZ History, Records, Facts and Genealogy(Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Yavapai County, Arizona Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 13-28. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yavapai County, Arizona p. 57.
- Williams 108-110
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 292
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
- &amp;amp;amp;amp;lt;i&amp;amp;amp;amp;gt;The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America&amp;amp;amp;amp;lt;/i&amp;amp;amp;amp;gt;,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1871, 6th assy./ pp. 53-54
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1879, 10th assy./ pp. 96-97
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1891, 16th assy./ pp. 26-34