Yemen Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Yemen)
Jump to: navigation, search

Middle East Gotoarrow.png Yemen

Yemen Wiki Topics
Flag of Yemen.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Yemen Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Yemen ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Yemen is a country in the Middle East bordered by Oman and Saudi Arabia. North Yemen became independent of the Ottoman Empire in 1918. The British, who had set up a protectorate area around the southern port of Aden in the 19th century, withdrew in 1967 from what became South Yemen. North Yemen and South Yemen formally unified as the Republic of Yemen in 1990. The official language is Arabic.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Yemen Research

Links to articles on getting started with Yemen research.

Yemen Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Yemen research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Yemen Map

Genealogy records are kept on the governorate level in the Yemen. Yemen, administrative divisions.png


Yemen is divided into 22 governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah):

  • 1. Saada
  • 2. Al Jawf
  • 3. Hadhramaut (mainland) and Socotra (off-shore)
  • 4. Al Mahrah
  • 5. Hajjah
  • 6. 'Amran
  • 7. Al Mahwit
  • 8. Amanat Al Asimah (Sana'a City)
  • 9. Sana'a
  • 10. Ma'rib
  • 11. Al Hudaydah
  • 12. Raymah
  • 13. Dhamar
  • 14. Ibb
  • 15. Dhale
  • 16. Al Bayda
  • 17. Shabwah
  • 18. Taiz
  • 19. Lahij
  • 20. Abyan
  • 21. Aden
  • 22. Socotra
  • For electoral and administrative purposes, the capital city of Sanaa is treated as an additional governorate.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Yemen," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 19 April 2016.