York Minster, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from York Cathedral, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.pngEast Riding of Yorkshire

Guide to York Minster, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. 

York Minster, Yorkshire
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred York
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1634
Bishop's Transcripts: 1814
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese York
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Dean and Chapter of York; This cathedral has several associated courts not listed.
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

York Cathedral is the seat of the Diocese of York. It is located in the county of Yorkshire.[1]

YORK, a city and county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the E. riding of York, of which it is the capital, 193 miles (N. N. W.) from London; containing 28,842 inhabitants [as of 1848]. This link provides a listing of Parishes in the city.[2]

York Cathedral, or otherwise known as York Minster, from ancient times (1136 A.D.) is known as St Peter with registers that commence from 1634-onward. Within the city proper is also included the Ainsty (which see under York Ainsty), a cluster of parishes which were annexed to and became part of the Minster or city--and all stood within St Peter's ancient parish boundaries. Here are the following ecclesiastical parishes and chapels which comprise the Minster by about 1870:

For a List of all those Ainsty parishes which were designated and became part of or lying within the Borough of York, see the [York Ainsty Parishes] page.

Noconformist places of worship as of 1870 included the following:

  • Independents - 2 (chapels)
  • Quakers 1 (chapel)
  • Unitarians 1 (chapel)
  • Wesleyan Methodist 4 (chapels)
  • Primitive Methodist 3 
  • Wesleyan Association 1
  • Wesleyan Reformers 2
  • New Church 1 
  • Baptists 1
  • New Connexion Methodist 2
  • United Free Methodist 2 
  • Roman Catholic 4

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these . There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of York Cathedral exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BMI = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[4]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
YORK ST PETER CATHEDRAL (1685) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI

1681-1762


FS 1560-1800;1805-1822; 1828
1685 1560-1802;1813-1822;1828
None
JOIN None
1701-1800
None
York All Saints North Street (1578) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1577-1886
1708-1837 part.
None
JOIN None


None
York All Saints Pavement with St Peter the Little (1554) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1554-1874
1554-1838 part.
None
JOIN None


None
York Christ Church united to Holy Trinity Kings Court (1631) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1631-1812
1631-1812
None
JOIN None


None
York Holy Trinity Goodramgate w/ St John Delpike and St Maurice (1573) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1573-1858
1578-1892
None
JOIN None
1701-1800
None
York Holy Trinity Heworth - see Heworth Holy Trinity

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN None

None
York Holy Trinity in Kings Court (1616) Online Records (see also Christ Church)

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1813-1872
1616-1884
None
JOIN None


None
York Holy Trinity in Micklegate (1586) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1586-1864
1586-1896
None
JOIN None


None
York St Clement Bishopshill Senior (1872) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1
837
None
JOIN None


None
York St Crux (1540) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1540-1887
1540-1880
None
JOIN None


None
York St Cuthbert (1591) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1718-1812 part.
1718-1837
None
JOIN None


None
York St Denis with St George (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1558-1867
1558-1750;1813-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Helen Stonegate (1568) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1568-1892
1723-1837
None
JOIN None


None
York St John Ousebridge (1570) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1570-1879
1570-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Lawrence with St Nicholas (1606) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1606-1886
1606-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Margaret with St Peter le Willows (1575) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1577-1886
1575-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Martin Coney Street (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1577-1886
1577-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Martin Micklegate with St Gregory (1540) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1540-1886
1539-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Mary Bishopshill Senior (1590) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1590-1886

1600-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Mary Bishopshill Junior (1582) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1582-1886
1603-1892
None
JOIN None


None
York St Mary Castlegate (1590) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1590-1886
1600-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Maurice (1647) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1713-1886
1647-1837 part.
None
JOIN None


None
York St Michael le Belfrey w/ St Wilfred (1565) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1565-1874
1566-1837
None
JOIN None


None
York St Michael Spurriergate (1598) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1598-1886
1598-1887
None
JOIN None


None
York St Olave with St Giles Gillygate (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1538-1879
1538-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Sampson (1610) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1640-1886
1610-1886
None
JOIN None


None
York St Saviour with St Andrew (1567) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI




FS 1567-1886
1567-1837
None
JOIN None

None
York St Thomas (1855) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1854-1886
1855-1886
None
JOIN None


None
Acastor Melbis (1631) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1720-1865
1720-1837
None
JOIN None


None
Acomb (1634) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1634-1886
1634-1837
None
JOIN None


None
Bedern Chapel (1682) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1768-1854 part.
None

None
JOIN None

None
Clifton (1860) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1871-1886
1871-1886
None
JOIN None


ne
Copmanthorpe (1759) Online Records - see also St Mary Bishophill Junior

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 14-1874
1554-1838 part.
None
JOIN None


None
Dringhouses St Edward (1849) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1849-1883
1853-1886

None
JOIN None


None
Heworth Holy Trinity Chapelry (1869) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None
None
None
JOIN None


None
Naburn (1653) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1653-1877
1653-1887
None
JOIN None


None
Upper Poppleton (1829) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BMI





FS 1829-18734
None
None
JOIN None


None
Wells Hospital Chapel (16) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None


None
JOIN None


None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464294.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-742. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 October 2014.
  4. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.