York County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from York County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
York County
York County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting York County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 13, 1855
County Seat York
Courthouse
px
Address York County Courthouse
510 Lincoln Ave.
York, NE 68467
Phone: 402.362.7759


York County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

York County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1870 1870 1870


County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage records. County Court has probate records. Register of Deeds has land records. Clerk District Court has divorce records. Veteran Service Office has military records. County Historical Society has Obituary Records.[1]

History

Parent County

  • 1855 York County was created 13 March 1855 from Cass and Pierce(old) Counties. County seat: York [2]

Description

York County is located in the southern part of the state.[3] York County was organized in 1870. Sources differ on the origin of the county's name; some state it was named after York in England, while others maintain it was named by early settlers from York County, Pennsylvania. ref>https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016</ref>

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[4]

  • Benedict
  • Bradshaw
  • Gresham
  • Henderson
  • Lushton
  • McCool Junction
  • Thayer
  • Waco
  • York

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Links to Google Maps for each cemetery can be found at the Kilgore Memorial Library website:

  • Arborville Cemetery is located on County road D just about 2-3 miles south of Highway 66.
  • Bethel Cemetery is located 2 miles north of Benedict on Highway 81, east on Road 24 3 miles to Road O, 1/8th mile north on Road O, toward Thayer.
  • Bethesda Lutheran Cemetery is located 4 1/2 miles west of York on Highway 34; on the south side of highway, west of Road I.
  • Bethesda Mennonite Cemetery is located near Henderson 1/2 mile east of Road B on Road 8.
  • Blue Valley Cemetery is located 1/2 mile east of Road S, on Road 5. Road S goes south from the I-80 Waco exit.
  • Mennonite Cemetery, also known as Buller Cemetery, Siebert-Buller Cemetery is located one mile south of Henderson, east on Road 5 to dead end. Cemetery is in the center of the section.
  • Brabham Family Cemetery, also known as Zion Cemetery is located 5 1/2 miles north of Highway 34 on Road B; in the field on east side of road. Not easily accessible.
  • Cashler Cemetery, also known as Union Cemetery is located north 1/2 mile from Interstate 80 Waco exit to Road 10, east 5 miles to Road X, south to dead end. Cemetery is adjacent to Interstate 80.
  • Cedar Lawn Cemetery is located on the East end of Ella Street in Gresham.
  • Council Cemetery is located southwest of the intersection of Road G and Road 11.
  • Dewitt Cemetery is located northeast of Waco. Take Hwy 34 east to Road V. Go north to Road 20, then east to County Road 476, then north.
  • Dry Creek Cemetery is located east of Waco to HWY 69, then north to Road 21. Northeast of HWY 69 and Road 21.
  • Ebenezer Cemetery is located from the Waco, NE Interchange on Interstate #80, two and one half miles north and two miles east on the north side of the road.
  • Faith Evangelical Bible Cemetery is located 1 1/4 miles south of Henderson on Road B.
  • Gilmore Cemetery is located on Road 6, 1 1/4 miles west of Road S.
  • Greenwood Cemetery (McCool Junction) is located on the north side of Road 3, between Road J and Road K. From McCool Junction, go west on Road 4 to Road K, south one mile on Road K and west 1/2 mile on Road 3.
  • Greenwood Cemetery (York) is located on the west end of 8th Street in York; from downtown York go west on 6th to Greenwood, north to 8th, and west to the cemetery entrance.
  • Holoch (Bussard) Cemetery is located southwest of intersection of Road P and Road M550. Go east from McCool Junction on Road 4 to Road O, north 1 1/2 miles to Road M550, east one mile.
  • Lincoln Creek Cemetery is located in Lockridge Township, 3 miles North and 3.5 miles east of the village of Bradshaw, York County, Nebraska. It is located on Road 17 between Roads "H" and "I". 
  • McCool Junction Cemetery is located 1/2 mile west of Highway 81 on Road 5.
  • Palo Cemetery, also known as Mt. Zion Cemetery, is located one mile west of HWY 69 on Road 20.
  • Plainfield Cemetery is located 2 1/4 miles west of Bradshaw on Highway 34.
  • Pleasant Hill Cemetery, also known as the Brabham Cemetery, is located 2-1/2 miles west on Road 22and 3/4 mile north of Benedict on Road J. Cemetery is on east side of Road J.
  • Pleasant Ridge Cemetery is located on Road 3, east of Road N. From McCool Junction, go two miles east on Road 4 to Road N, south one mile to Road 3 and 1/3rd mile east.
  • Rosemond Cemetery, also known as Rose Cemetery, is located on Road P, south of Road 18. Best route is go north on Road Q (Thayer Road) from Highway 34 two miles, west on Road 17 one mile, and north on Road P.
  • St. John’s Cemetery is located from Interstate 80 Waco exit, go north 1/2 mile; take Road 10 east 2 miles, go north 1/2 mile on Road U.
  • St. Joseph’s Cemetery is located at the intersection of Nobes Road (Road 12) and Road N east of York.
  • St. Paul’s Lutheran Cemetery is located 4 miles north of Highway 34 on Road N to Road 19.
  • St. Peter’s Lutheran Cemetery is located on Highway 69 at northwest corner of Gresham. Cemetery is west of the church.
  • United Methodist Cemetery is located west of Lushton on Road 3, south on Road F for 1 mile. Cemetery is on southwest corner of Road 2 & Road F intersection.
  • Vernon Cemetery, also known as Pettis Cemetery, is located 3 miles east of Highway 81 on Road 10. Cemetery is on northeast corner of Road 10 and Road O.
  • Waco Cemetery is located west on street immediately south of railroad tracks in Waco.
  • Zion Lutheran Cemetery is located 1/2 mile west of Thayer (Road Q) on Road 20, on the south side of the road.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 604
1880 11,170 1749.3%
1890 17,279 54.7%
1900 18,205 5.4%
1910 18,721 2.8%
1920 17,146 −8.4%
1930 17,239 0.5%
1940 14,874 −13.7%
1950 14,346 −3.5%
1960 13,724 −4.3%
1970 13,685 −0.3%
1980 14,798 8.1%
1990 14,428 −2.5%
2000 14,598 1.2%
2010 13,665 −6.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing York County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for York County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Neyork.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - York - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Paradise Mills Historical Society
    General Delivery
    Waco, NE 68460
  • Greater York Area Genealogical Society
    Kilgore Memorial Library
    521 Nebraska Ave
    York, NE 68467-3095

Libraries

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Red Willow County, Nebraska page 435, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/york/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "York County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_County,_Nebraska, accessed 2 August 2016.