York County, New Brunswick Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from York County, New Brunswick)
Jump to: navigation, search
New Brunswick Research Topics
New Brunswick Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Brunswick Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
New Brunswick
York County

Guide to York county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of New Brunswick York.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Located on the west side of the province, York County was one of the original counties created in 1785. In 1786, the county was divided in to the parishes of Fredericton, Kingsclear, Prince William, St. Mary’s, Queensbury, Northampton and Woodstock, with the northern portion of the county unassigned. Woodstock, Northampton and the unassigned lands were separated as Carleton County in 1831. The parish of Douglas was set off from St. Mary’s and Queensbury in 1824; Southampton was established from a portion of Northampton in 1832; Dumfries from Prince William and Woodstock in 1833; Stanley from St. Mary’s in 1846; New Maryland from Kingsclear in 1850; Manners-Sutton from Kingsclear and Prince William, and Canterbury from Dumfries in 1855; Bright from Queensbury and Douglas in 1869; North Lake from Canterbury in 1879; and McAdam from Prince William and Manners-Sutton in 1894.[1]

Maps and Gazetteers


Populated Places Table

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Barkers Point         Link   Link
Bear Island         Link   Link
Cardigan         Link   Link
Dumfries         Link   Link
Fredericton        Link   Link
Harvey        Link   Link
Jewetts Mills        Link   Link
Keswick Ridge
      Link   Link
Kings Landing         Link   Link
Kingsclear         Link   Link
Mactaquac           Link   Link
Manners Sutton        Link   Link
Marysville         Canada, New Brunswick, York, Marysville |place|disp=Link}}   Link
McAdam          Link   Link
Millville        Link   Link 
Nackawic        Link   Link
Nashwaaksis        Link   Link
New Maryland        Link   Link
Prince William        Link   Link
Queensbury         Link   Link
St. Mary's         Link   Link
Stanley          {FHL|Canada, New Brunswick, York, Stanley|place|disp=Link}}   Link
Temperance Vale      Canada, New Brunswick, York, Temperance Vale|place|disp=Link}}   Link

Neighboring Counties

Civil Registrations

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area. Due to boundary changes, census records may be found in Nova Scotia records.

Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images

Year Name of Collection Where Available

1671

Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976;

FamilySearch Books Online Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118
At various libraries (WorldCat)

1708 East Coast of Arcadia 1708 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1714 Acadian families in 1714 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1770 Nova Scotia 1770 census Rootsweb
Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
1783 1783 Studholm Report CensusFinder, index.
1785 Cape Ann Association Of Loyalists - 1785 Rootsweb
[Return of Persons who have Lands located to them on Schodiack River above the Glebe, 10 May 1785 Genweb]
1788 Moncton Township Settlers 1788 Rootsweb
1800-1842 Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 Ancestry ($)
1804 Scotch Emigrants - 1804 Rootsweb
1811-1818 Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 Nova Scotia Archives
1827 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
WorldCat
1838 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 Nova Scotia Archives
1851 Canada Census, 1851 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1861 Census of Canada, 1861 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871 Census of Canada, 1871 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871-1901 Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada FamilySearch
WorldCat
1881 Census of Canada, 1881 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1891 Census of Canada, 1891 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1901 Census of Canada, 1901 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1911 Census of Canada, 1911 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1921 Census of Canada, 1921 Ancestry ($)



Church Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print
List of Cemeteries in the County

Court Records

Wills and Probate

Directories

Immigration Records

Land Records

Military Records

Newspapers and Obituaries

Taxation Records

Repositories


Websites

References

  1. York County Genealogical Guide, http://archives.gnb.ca/Documents/CountyGuides/York_en-CA.pdf, April 5, 2017.
  2. We Lived, a Genealogical Newsletter of New Brunswick Sources, 1979-1983, Cleadie B. Barnett, Editor & Publisher