Yuba County, California Genealogy
|Yuba County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|Address|| Yuba County Courthouse|
935 14th Street
Marysville, CA 95901
Yuba County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization/Citizenship Records
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Societies
- 5.24 Taxation
- 5.25 Vital Records
- 5.26 Voting Registers
- 6 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Yuba County, California Record Dates
County Clerk has marriage records from 1865
Divorce, probate and court records from 1850
and voting records from 1866
18 February 1850; Yuba County was created as an original county. County seat: Marysville 
The county was named from after the Yuba River. The county seat Marysville and the county was created February 18, 1850. The County is located in the north central area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Yuba County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Yuba County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Yuba County Biographies (CAGenWeb Project)
The following web sites may have additional information on Yuba County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing Yuba County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Yuba County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
- History of Yuba County California, by Thompson and West (1879)
- Early Members of the Bar, Yuba County (Genealogy Trails)
- Yuba County History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1913 - The Wheatland Hop Riot (CAGenWeb Project)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
An Index to Yuba County Federal Land Records is available online.
The following records of Yuba County land records have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah and are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake or they can be ordered for viewing at any of the Library's Family History Centers:
- Deeds 1866-1906 (from Yuba County Clerk/Recorder Office in Marysville)
- Deeds 1850-1888 (also from the Clerks office in Marysville)
- Yuba County Plat Books 1854-1898 (from the John Q Packard Library in Marysville)
- Maps of California (1850-1925)
- YubaRoots.com has a number of maps available (from Thompson and West's 1879 book) and also a map of 1861 and another of 1885.
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Henness Pass Road 1850 branched off the Truckee Trail at Verdi, Nevada headed for Camptonville and steamboat service at Marysville, California. In 1860 it became a major route to the Comstock Lode silver mines in Nevada.
- Beckwourth Trail 1850 left the Truckee Trail near present-day Sparks, Nevada going to Oroville and Marysville, California
Military History and Records
- 1895 - Company C, 8th CA National Guard Infantry 1895 (USGenWeb Archives)
Regiments. Service men in Yuba County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Yuba County, California Genealogy:
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- - 1st Regiment, California Cavalry (Union), Company D
- - 1st Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- - 7th Regiment, California Infantry (Union) , Company B
- - 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company G
- - 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- 1883 - Yuba County – List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1886 - Civil War Veterans, Corinth Post No. 80, G. A. R. 1886 (USGenWeb Archives)
World War I
- Raymond H Banks has abstracted records of the Yuba County Civilian Draft Registration Cards (1917-1918) and made them available online through the USGenweb of Yuba County.
World War II
- Index of World War II Army Enlistment Records for Yuba County, California (Genealogy Trails)
- Yuba County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed copies of naturalization papers found in the Yuba County Clerk's Office, and these records are available for viewing either in Salt Lake City or they can be ordered at any of the Library's Family History Centers.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yuba County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
1530 Ellis Lake Drive
Marysville, CA 95901
Telephone: 505-741-2345 or 800-831-2345
Hours: Monday through Friday 8 am to 5 pm
- Index to Yuba County Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Yuba County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Yuba County Obituaries (CAGenWeb Project)
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Yuba - Probate records.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has made copies of probate records found in the Yuba County Clerk's Office in Marysville, California. These copies can be read at the Library in Salt Lake City or can be ordered at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Copies of these records are also available at the California State Archives. The microfilm copies are as follows:
- Probate records 1850-1920 (Superior and Probate Court records)
- Wills 1855-1919 (Superior Court records)
- Wills 1855-1919 (another copy)
- Early California Wills from Placer, Shasta and Yuba counties
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Forbestown Museum/Yuba-Feather Historical Association
P.O. Box 54
Brownsville, CA 95919
Mary Aaron Memorial Museum Association
704 D Street
Marysville, CA 95901
Yuba County Library Local History Room
303 2nd Street
Marysville, CA 95901
Address: 215 Fifth Street, Suite 200
Marysville, CA 95901
Hours: Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Phone: (530) 749-7600
Courtrooms: Department 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7
Richard A. Schoenig Annex
Address: 120 Fifth Street
Marysville, CA 95901
Hours: Monday - Friday:
8:30am-12:00pm, 1:00pm - 4:30pm
Phone: (530) 749-7685
Courtrooms: Department 6
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Camptonville California Family History Center
- Loma Rica California Family History Center
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- Selected Yuba County Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- Early Yuba County Birth Notices by year (Genealogy Trails)
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Early Yuba County Marriage Notices by year (Genealogy Trails)
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
California county clerks were to keep voting registers every other year from 1866 and well into the 20th century. These large books, called Great Registers, listed the men who registered to vote in that county. Besides name and age, the record may show place of birth, address, occupation, naturalization date and sometimes even a physical description.
These records are at the California State Library (1866-1944), and microfilmed copies are available through Family History Centers (1866-1910). Ancestry ($) has a searchable database of Yuba Great Registers from 1867-1896.
Several Yuba records from 1867 to 1894 are available on the RootsWeb site, by clicking here.
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- Yuba County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Yuba County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Yuba County, California Genealogy Trails
- Yuba County CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy]
- Yuba County Research, California State Genealogical Alliance
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yuba County, California. Page 88At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Yuba County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuba_County,_California 05/09/2017.
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).