Zambia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Zambia)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Zambia

Zambia Wiki Topics
Flag of Zambia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Country Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Zambia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Zambia is a country in Africa bordered by Angola, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi, Tanzania, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire). The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Zambia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Zambia research.

Zambia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Zambia research.

See More Research Tools

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Zambia Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Zambia.
Zambia provinces named.png

Provinces

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Zambia. Provinces:

  1. Central
  2. Copperbelt
  3. Eastern
  4. Luapula
  5. Lusaka
  6. Muchinga
  7. North-Western
  8. Northern
  9. Southern
  10. Western

More Zambia Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in the Zambia.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Zambia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zambia, accessed 19 April 2016.