Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy
|United States||Virginia||Appomattox County|
Guide to Appomattox County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Appomattox County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||February 8, 1845|
- 1 Appomattox County Virginia Courthouse
- 2 Appomattox County Virginia History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African American
- 4.2.1 Bible Records
- 4.2.2 Cemeteries
- 4.2.3 Census
- 4.2.4 Church Records
- 4.2.5 Court
- 4.2.6 Genealogy
- 4.2.7 Historic Residences
- 4.2.8 Land and Property
- 4.2.9 Local Histories
- 4.2.10 Maps
- 4.2.11 Migration
- 4.2.12 Military
- 4.2.13 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.2.14 Naturalization
- 4.2.15 Newspapers
- 4.2.16 Petitions
- 4.2.17 Probate Records
- 4.2.18 Taxation
- 4.2.19 Vital Records
- 5 Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy References
Appomattox County Virginia Courthouse
Appomattox County Courthouse
P.O. Box 672
Appomattox, VA 24522-0672
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and probate records from 1892, court and land records 
Appomattox County Virginia History
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
The Appomattox County VAGenWeb page identifies surviving church and vital records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Appomattox County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1960):79-80. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Appomattox County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Appomattox County:
For tips on accessing Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Appomattox County families. To view a list, visit Appomattox County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
War of 1812
Regiments. Service men in Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy:
Records and histories are available, including:
Civil War Battle
The following battles were fought in Appomattox County.
Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexes to Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Vital Record Substitutes
Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Websites
Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy References