Devon Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Devon Wiki Topics
England-devonshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Devon Background
Local Research Resources


England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Bishop's Transcripts


Parish Registers

Images of many of Devon's parish registers are available online at findmypast and FamilySearch.

England Births and Christenings, 1538-1975 includes 1,319,009 Devon baptisms. England Marriages, 1538-1973 includes 700,785 Devon entries. England Deaths and Burials, 1538-1991 includes 150,468 Devon burials. Formerly known as the International Genealogical Index. These databases are free on FamilySearch. Coverage.

36% of Devon's parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage. Popular places to marry included the towns of Barnstaple, Exeter, Plymouth, and Stoke Damerel.[1]

Devon Online Parish Clerk Project is a resource of volunteers willing to provide free look-ups and research within the County of Devon. Over 95 volunteers have adopted approx. 200 of the ancient 500 Devonshire Parishes. (More volunteers are always welcome!)

The Branscombe Project - In 1995, the residents of Branscombe, a small village in Devonshire, England launched The Branscombe Project, which is intended to preserve the stories of their village, current events, and records related to the Village over the years. Among the treasures to be found at this site are the complete, transcribed St. Winifred’s parish records from 1539-2002.

Marriage Licences

  • 1523-1632 - Vivian, J.L. The Marriage Licenses of the Diocese of Exeter from the Bishop's Registers. Exeter: William Pollard and Co., 1889. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.

References

  1. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.