Dorset Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Dorset Wiki Topics
England-dorsetshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Dorset Background
Local Research Resources


England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Parish Registers

Images of Dorset's parish registers are available online at Ancestry and FamilySearch.

Church of England, Dorset Church Records 1538-1910. To learn more about this record set see the Wiki article.

Dorset Online Parish Clerks: Transriptions from original data available at the Dorset History Centre.

England Births and Christenings, 1538-1975 includes 1,092,441 Dorset baptisms. England Marriages, 1538-1973 includes 288,220 Dorset entries. England Deaths and Burials, 1538-1991 includes 201,105 Dorset burials. Formerly known as the International Genealogical Index. These databases are free on FamilySearch. Coverage.

Baptisms

342,117 Dorset entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

Marriages

All of Dorset's parishes are indexed in the Dorset Marriage Index 1538-1837 (£).[2]

199 Dorset parishes are indexed in Joiner's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[3]

79 Dorset parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[4]

61,663 Dorset entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[5]

Dozens of Dorset parish marriage registers, particularly for the years 1790 to 1812, are indexed in Pallot's Marriage Index. Available through Ancestry (£).[6]

Burials

Burials from 286 Dorset places (285,460 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[7]

Marriage Licences

Dorset residents often acquired marriage licences at Salisbury.

Bishop of Salisbury and Dean of Salisbury marriage licence bonds (1609-1837) have been indexed: FHL CD-ROM no. 2461.

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'About Dorset Marriage Index 1538-1856,' Origins.net, accessed 2 September 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of the Joiner Marriage Index', The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 1 September 2013.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  5. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.