Help:Renaming a page
Quick Reference: To rename a wiki article page, open the page, click on the option "Move" and follow the instructions.
What does it mean to "Move" a page?
Moving(renaming) a page means giving it another name. In other words, the content on a page contained under one title is moved to a new page with a different title. The page is "renamed." Occasionally we misspell a word when creating a new article and don't realize it until after we spent a significant amount of time writing the article. Rather than deleting the article, or copying and pasting the content into a new article, we can simply move it in a couple of easy steps. Also, some titles may be much to vague to explain what a user may find in an article. For example, if I have created an article titled "Death Records," and I later realize that I forgot to include the locality in the title, I can move the article/page to a new page titled "Colorado Death Records."
What if someone tries to search for the old title?
If someone has linked to the old title, or tries to search for the old title, they will simply arrive at the page with the new title, similar to redirecting a page.
Before Moving Pages
Before moving pages that you did not create, it is common courtesy to use the "Discussion" link for that page to explain your reasons for wanting to move the page, and the time period within which you plan on moving the page. This allows the original author or authors time to respond, and to give reasons for not moving the page. The author also may recognize the need to move the page and may encourage the change.
What happens when I move a page?
Moving a page is done by using "Move" link, entering the new article title/name and clicking 'Move Page'. If you move page "A" to a newly titled page "B", this operation will do the following:
- Creates the new page "B", with contents from page "A"
- Replaces the contents of page "A" with a "redirect" to page "B"
- Moves all of the editing history from page "A" so that it appears under "B"'s history tab.
- When users try to search for title "A," they will automatically arrive at page "B."
The third point is important. By using the 'Move' feature, you also move the editing history, which is desirable in most situations. The editing history allows people to see how the contents of the page were built up, and who contributed what. If you move contents around by copying and pasting (not using the move feature), the editing history will not be included in the new page.Because the move operation leaves behind a redirect, it should not result in any broken links, however you might want to hunt down the pages which link in to the redirect, and change their text to link directly to the new title. The 'What links here' toolbox feature is useful when doing this (see below).
Proposing a move
Deciding on a page title can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the move you have in mind is one which might cause upset or could be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page. You might also establish a system for labelling the page itself, with a move proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.
Undo a move
As with all wiki editing, a move operation can be reversed (by any user). To reverse a move operation, simply move the page back, e.g. move page "B" back to "A".
The page title "B" will still be left behind, as a redirect from "B" to "A". Any user can remove the redirect and propose that the page be deleted. However the final deletion will require sysop privileges.