Difference between revisions of "Help:Reverting Content to Previous Version"

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(added text for article)
(revised wording)
(3 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. Its a good idea to first contact those contributors and explain what you are going to do. You might also give your reasons on the Talk Page for that article. In the long run it is better to negotiate permission before hand. Thus smoothing over possible hurt feelings and preventing a "revert war".
  
You can do revert to a previous version of an article in a couple of ways. But first navigate to the article that needs to be reverted. Then go to the History page.
+
*'''Step 1''' Navigate to the article that needs to be reverted.
  
1)  You can go down the page to the last good version and click on '''Prev'''.  When the two versions come up, click on '''(Edit)''' on the column on the left. This will open up an '''Edit Window''' which you can then '''Save'''.
+
*'''Step 2''' Go to its History page and do one of the following.
  
2) Or you can click on '''Rollback''', it should take the page back to where it was when the last person before you edited it.
+
:*'''Step 2.1''' Find the last good version and '''click on its date''' to roll back the article to. That version should now open in the '''Edit Window'''.
 +
 
 +
:*'''Step 2.2''' Find the last good version and '''click on Prev'''. When the two versions show up , click '''(Edit)''' at the top of the column on the left. This will open up the good version in the '''Edit Window'''
 +
 
 +
*'''Step 3''' At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the '''Summary'''. Then Click on the '''Save page''' button.

Revision as of 23:15, 24 January 2013

When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. Its a good idea to first contact those contributors and explain what you are going to do. You might also give your reasons on the Talk Page for that article. In the long run it is better to negotiate permission before hand. Thus smoothing over possible hurt feelings and preventing a "revert war".

  • Step 1 Navigate to the article that needs to be reverted.
  • Step 2 Go to its History page and do one of the following.
  • Step 2.1 Find the last good version and click on its date to roll back the article to. That version should now open in the Edit Window.
  • Step 2.2 Find the last good version and click on Prev. When the two versions show up , click (Edit) at the top of the column on the left. This will open up the good version in the Edit Window
  • Step 3 At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the Summary. Then Click on the Save page button.