Difference between revisions of "Help:Reverting Content to Previous Version"

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(added text for article)
(revise the wording)
 
(27 intermediate revisions by 7 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. It's a good idea to contact those contributors and discuss it with them directly. At the very least give your reasons on the '''Talk''' page and explain what you intend to do. Then, let some time go by, giving others a chance to reply to your ideas. In the long run it is better to negotiate permission before hand, thus smoothing over possible hurt feelings and preventing a '''Revert War'''.
  
You can do revert to a previous version of an article in a couple of ways. But first navigate to the article that needs to be reverted. Then go to the History page.
+
Also, consider the Three-revert rule <ref>Do not revert any page or any part of a page more than 3 times in 24 hours. Doing so may lead to action being taken against your account by an administrator.</ref> if doing a revert or extensive editing.
  
1)  You can go down the page to the last good version and click on '''Prev'''.  When the two versions come up, click on '''(Edit)''' on the column on the left. This will open up an '''Edit Window''' which you can then '''Save'''.
 
  
2)  Or you can click on '''Rollback''', it should take the page back to where it was when the last person before you edited it.
+
When you are ready to revert an article to a previous version, do the following:
 +
 
 +
*Navigate to the article that you wish to revert.
 +
 
 +
*Click on its '''View History''' page.
 +
 
 +
*Choose a previous version and '''click on its (undo)'''.
 +
 
 +
*The article for that date should now open in an '''Edit Window'''.
 +
 
 +
*At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the '''Summary'''.
 +
 
 +
*Then Click on the '''Save page''' button.
 +
 
 +
{{reflist}}
 +
 
 +
[[Category:Editing Wiki Articles]]

Latest revision as of 03:09, 2 October 2016

When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. It's a good idea to contact those contributors and discuss it with them directly. At the very least give your reasons on the Talk page and explain what you intend to do. Then, let some time go by, giving others a chance to reply to your ideas. In the long run it is better to negotiate permission before hand, thus smoothing over possible hurt feelings and preventing a Revert War.

Also, consider the Three-revert rule [1] if doing a revert or extensive editing.


When you are ready to revert an article to a previous version, do the following:

  • Navigate to the article that you wish to revert.
  • Click on its View History page.
  • Choose a previous version and click on its (undo).
  • The article for that date should now open in an Edit Window.
  • At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the Summary.
  • Then Click on the Save page button.


  1. Do not revert any page or any part of a page more than 3 times in 24 hours. Doing so may lead to action being taken against your account by an administrator.