Difference between revisions of "Help:Reverting Content to Previous Version"

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(revised wording)
(revise the wording)
 
(25 intermediate revisions by 7 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. Its a good idea to first contact those contributors and explain what you are going to do. You might also give your reasons on the Talk Page for that article.  
+
When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. It's a good idea to contact those contributors and discuss it with them directly. At the very least give your reasons on the '''Talk''' page and explain what you intend to do. Then, let some time go by, giving others a chance to reply to your ideas. In the long run it is better to negotiate permission before hand, thus smoothing over possible hurt feelings and preventing a '''Revert War'''.
  
*'''Step 1''' Navigate to the article that needs to be reverted.
+
Also, consider the Three-revert rule <ref>Do not revert any page or any part of a page more than 3 times in 24 hours. Doing so may lead to action being taken against your account by an administrator.</ref> if doing a revert or extensive editing.
  
*'''Step 2''' Go to the History page and do one of the following.
 
  
:*'''Step 2.1''' Find the last good version and '''click on its date''' to roll back the article to. That version should now open in the '''Edit Window'''.
+
When you are ready to revert an article to a previous version, do the following:
  
:*'''Step 2.2''' Find the last good version and '''click on Prev'''.  When the two versions show up , click '''(Edit)''' at the top of the column on the left. This will open up the good version in the '''Edit Window'''
+
*Navigate to the article that you wish to revert.
  
*'''Step 3''' At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the '''Summary'''. Then Click on the '''Save page''' button.
+
*Click on its '''View History''' page.
 +
 
 +
*Choose a previous version and '''click on its (undo)'''.
 +
 
 +
*The article for that date should now open in an '''Edit Window'''.
 +
 
 +
*At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the '''Summary'''.
 +
 
 +
*Then Click on the '''Save page''' button.
 +
 
 +
{{reflist}}
 +
 
 +
[[Category:Editing Wiki Articles]]

Latest revision as of 03:09, 2 October 2016

When you revert an article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. It's a good idea to contact those contributors and discuss it with them directly. At the very least give your reasons on the Talk page and explain what you intend to do. Then, let some time go by, giving others a chance to reply to your ideas. In the long run it is better to negotiate permission before hand, thus smoothing over possible hurt feelings and preventing a Revert War.

Also, consider the Three-revert rule [1] if doing a revert or extensive editing.


When you are ready to revert an article to a previous version, do the following:

  • Navigate to the article that you wish to revert.
  • Click on its View History page.
  • Choose a previous version and click on its (undo).
  • The article for that date should now open in an Edit Window.
  • At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, fill in the Summary.
  • Then Click on the Save page button.


  1. Do not revert any page or any part of a page more than 3 times in 24 hours. Doing so may lead to action being taken against your account by an administrator.