Difference between revisions of "Help:Reverting Content to Previous Version"

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(added text for article)
(revised wording)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
When you revert and article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. Its a good idea to contact those contributors and explain what you are going to do.
 +
You might also give your reasons on the Talk Page for that article.
  
You can do revert to a previous version of an article in a couple of ways. But first navigate to the article that needs to be reverted. Then go to the History page.
+
*'''Step 1''' Navigate to the article that needs to be reverted.
  
1)  You can go down the page to the last good version and click on '''Prev'''.  When the two versions come up, click on '''(Edit)''' on the column on the left. This will open up an '''Edit Window''' which you can then '''Save'''.
+
*'''Step 2''' Go to the History page and do one of the following.
  
2)  Or you can click on '''Rollback''', it should take the page back to where it was when the last person before you edited it.
+
:*'''Step 2.1''' Find the last good version and '''click on its date''' to roll back the article to. That version should now open in the '''Edit Window'''.
 +
 
 +
:*'''Step 2.2''' Find the last good version and '''click on Prev'''.  When the two versions show up , click '''(Edit)''' at the top of the column on the left. This will open up the good version in the '''Edit Window'''
 +
 
 +
*'''Step 3''' At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, '''type in the Summary'''.
 +
 
 +
*'''Step 4 Click on Save page'''.

Revision as of 23:50, 7 January 2013

When you revert and article to a previous version, you are eliminating the edits of one or more contributors. Its a good idea to contact those contributors and explain what you are going to do. You might also give your reasons on the Talk Page for that article.

  • Step 1 Navigate to the article that needs to be reverted.
  • Step 2 Go to the History page and do one of the following.
  • Step 2.1 Find the last good version and click on its date to roll back the article to. That version should now open in the Edit Window.
  • Step 2.2 Find the last good version and click on Prev. When the two versions show up , click (Edit) at the top of the column on the left. This will open up the good version in the Edit Window
  • Step 3 At the bottom of the page under the Edit Window, type in the Summary.
  • Step 4 Click on Save page.