Mississippi Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Mississippi Wiki Topics
Mississippi flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Mississippi Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries

Online Resources

MS ORP.png
Links to online databases and indexes that may include vital records, biographies, cemeteries, censuses, histories, immigration records, land records, maps, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, obituaries, or probate records.


These repositories preserve sources, maintain indexes, and provide services to help genealogists document their ancestors who lived in Mississippi.

Wiki Articles on Major Repositories in Mississippi

National Archives at Atlanta · Mississippi Department of Archives and History · Mississippi Genealogical Society · Mississippi Historical Society · Evans Memorial Library · McCardle Research Library · Mississippi State University Mitchel Library · University of Mississippi Williams Library · University of Southern Mississippi · Briscoe Center for American History Austin TX · Dallas Public Central Library TX · Mobile Municipal Archives AL

National Repositories

NARA Atlanta.jpg
National Archives at Atlanta
5780 Jonesboro Road
Morrow, Georgia 30260 USA
Phone: 770-968-2100
Fax: 770-968-2547
E-mail: atlanta.archives@nara.gov
Internet: National Archives at Atlanta

Records from over 100 federal agencies and courts in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. Also includes Vice Admiralty Courts of SC, evolution of federal courts, Constitutional rights, Revolutionary War, Civil War, reconstruction, World Wars I and II, and space exploration. Microfilms for censuses, diplomatic missions, military service records, bounty-land applications, passenger arrival lists, naturalizations, American Indians, and African Americans.[1]

Statewide Repositories

Mississippi Department of Archives and History
200 North Street
Jackson, MS 39201 USA
Telephone: 601-576-6850
E-mail: info@mdah.state.ms.us
Internet: Department of Archives and History

This is the best place to start genealogy research in Mississippi. Researchers can find original records from every Mississippi county here. They also have newspapers, genealogies, and county histories.[2] A useful guide is:
  • Thomas W. Henderson and Ronald E. Tomlin, Guide to Official Records in the Mississippi Department of Archives and History (Jackson, Mississippi: Mississippi Department of Archives and History, 1975). WorldCat 865859264; FHL Book 976.2 A3h.
Wiki articles describing parts of their online collections are found at:

Mississippi Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 5301
Jackson, MS 39216 USA
E-mail: Info@MSGenSociety.org
Internet: Mississippi Genealogical Society

Mississippi Historical Society
PO Box 571
Jackson, MS 39205-0571 USA
Telephone: 601-576-6849
E-mail: mhs@mdah.state.ms.us
Internet: Mississippi Historical Society

Their collection is now part of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History above.

Regional Repositories

Evans Memorial Library
105 North Long Street
Aberdeen, MS 39730 USA
Telephone: 622-369-4601
Fax: 622-369-2971
E-mail: eml@tombigbee.lib.ms.us
Internet: Evans Memorial Library

This is an outstanding regional library with records of the deep South, including Mississippi and Alabama oral histories, church records, newspapers, maps, military records, Chickasaw Indians, African Americans, fraternal histories, scrapbooks, manuscripts and photos. One of the largest genealogy collections in the South - could be called "the Fort Wayne Library of the South."[2]

McCardle Research Library
Old Courthouse Museum
1008 Cherry St
Vicksburg, MS 39183 USA
Telephone: 601-36-0741
Internet: McCardle Library

Regional and local genealogy for early Mississippians, and American Civil War records including local history, histories of Warren County families, local cemetery records, census records, business directories, civil war manuscripts, maps, marriage records, and tax records.[2] [3]

Mississippi State University Mitchel Library
P.O. Box 5408
395 Hardy Rd
Mississippi State, MS 39762-5408 USA
Telephone: 662-325-7679
E-mail: [mail to:sp_coll@library.msstate.edu sp_coll@library.msstate.edu]
Internet: Special Collections

They have books, manuscripts, maps, biographies, and genealogies.[2]

University of Mississippi Williams Library
P.O. Box 1848
1 Library Loop
University, MS 38677 USA
Telephone: 662-915-7408
E-mail: archivesdept@olemiss.edu
Internet: Archives and Special Collections

They have an excellent collection of records about Mississippi such as logging, early settlers, oral histories, manuscripts, and local histories.[2]

University of Southern Mississippi
McCain Library and Archives
P.O. Box 5148
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-5148 USA
Phone: (601) 266-4345
Fax: (601) 266-4409

Outside of Mississippi Repositories

Briscoe Center for American History 2012.jpg
Briscoe Center for American History
University of Texas at Austin
2313 Red River Street
Austin, Texas 78705 USA
Telephone: 512-495-4532
E-mail: Reference Request Form
Internet: Briscoe Center for American History

This collection is as large as the Texas state archives including newspapers, biographies, private collections, the American South, military history, Western Americana, photos, and the Natchez Trace Collection papers from Mississippi and Louisiana.[2]

Dallas Public Central Library.jpg
Dallas Public Central Library
1515 Young St.
Dallas, TX 75201-9987 USA
Telephone: 214-670-1400
Internet: http://dallaslibrary2.org/genealogy/index.php

Outstanding genealogical collection with records for more than Texas, including Oklahoma, Louisiana, Mississippi, the South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England states.[4] 111,700 volumes, 64,500 microfilms, 89,000 microfiche, and over 700 maps, marriage, probate, deed, tax abstracts, films of originals for some states, and databases.[5]

Mobile Municipal Archives
P.O. Box 1827
457 Church Street
Mobile, Alabama 36633-1827 USA
Telephone: 251-208-7740
Fax: 251-208-7428
E-mail: archives@cityofmobile.org
Internet: http://www.cityofmobile.org/archives/ Municipal Archives

Includes records of early Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida settlers: Spanish, French, and Anglo especially during the Spanish period. This is the premier library for Gulf Coast settlers from Louisiana to Florida.[2]

Guidebook

  • Mississippi Genealogical Society (Jackson, Mississippi), Survey of Records in Mississippi Court Houses (Jackson, Mississippi: Mississippi Genealogical Society, 1957. WorldCat 865951131; FHL Book 976.2 P2m and FHL fiche 6100939. Describes Mississippi county records.

References

  1. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 127-28. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 Dollarhide and Bremer, 65.
  3. McCardle Library in Vicksburg's Old Courthouse Museum (accessed 11 November 2015).
  4. Dollarhide and Bremer, 107.
  5. Dallas Public Library Genealogy Collection in Dallas Public Library (accessed 10 November 2015).
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Mississippi_Archives_and_Libraries&oldid=2705529"