Nevada Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Nevada Wiki Topics
Nevada_flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
State Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


United States
U.S. Archives and Libraries
Nevada
Archives and Libraries


The archives, libraries, and societies listed below have collections or services helpful to Nevada researchers.

Note:  To learn more about the history and record-keeping systems of Nevada counties, see the seven inventories of county archives produced by the Historical Records Survey around 1940. Copies of these inventories are available at the Family History Library.

Wiki Articles on Major Repositories in Nevada

Nevada State Library and Archives · Nevada Historical Society · University of Nev Libraries · National Archives at Riverside · National Archives at San Francisco · Family History Library

Reno and Carson City

Nevada Historical Society

1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Telephone: 775-688-1190
Fax: 775-688-2917
Internet: Nevada Museums & History

Nevada State Library and Arcives Didital Collections Including territorial census records , state land patents and prisoners and orphans records.

Nevada State Genealogical Society

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
Internet: The Nevada State Genealogical Society

Nevada State Library and Archives

Division of Archives and Records
100 North Steward Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4285
Telephone: 800-922-2880 (in-state)
Fax 775-684-3311
Internet: Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records  

The Nevada State Library and Archives has the territorial records for Carson County, Utah and Nevada Territory. A guide to these records is Marion Ellison, An Inventory and Index to the Records of Carson County, Utah and Nevada Territories, 1855-1861 (Reno, Nevada: The Grace Dangberg Foundation, 1984).

University of Nevada, Reno

Special Collections
Mail Stop 322
1664 N. Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89557-0044
Telephone: 775-784-4636
Internet: University of Nevada, Reno

Las Vegas

Nevada State Museum and Historical Society

700 Twin Lakes Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89107
Telephone: 702-486-5205
Fax: 702-486-5172
Internet: The Nevada State Museum

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

4505 Maryland Parkway
Box 457001
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7001
Telephone: (702) 895-2286
Internet: Las Vegas University Libraries

The library has a historical section with Indexes to microfilms of historical information.

Nevada Resources in California

National Archives at San Francisco

(Serves Nevada except for Clark County)
1000 Commodore Drive
San Bruno, CA 94066-2350
Telephone: 650-876-9001
Fax: 650-876-9233
E-mail: sanbruno.archives@nara.gov
Internet: :The National Archives at San Francisco

National Archives at Riverside

(Serves Clark County, Nevada)
23123 Cojaico Road
Perris, CA 92570
Telephone: 951-956-2000
Fax: 951-956-2029
Internet: National Archives at Riverside

Nevada Online Records

NV ORP.png
Links to online databases and indexes that may include vital records, biographies, cemeteries, censuses, histories, immigration records, land records, maps, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, obituaries, or probate records.

The Mountain West Digital Library is a search portal for an aggregation of digital collections from more than 50 universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, and Idaho. It is in partnership with 60 academic libraries, public libraries, museums, historical societies, cities, counties, and state agencies from Utah, Nevada, Idaho, and Hawaii (coming soon: over 60 new partners in Arizona!)