|Panama Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- This article is about censuses of the country of Panama. For the former U.S. Canal Zone, see Panama Canal Zone Census.
1911-2000 National Institute of Census and Statistics
A civil census was conducted in each of the following years: 1911, 1920, and subsequently every 10 years containing:
- First and last name and address of head of household
- First and last name and relationship to the head of household living in the same house
- Civil status, place of birth, sex, age
- Place of residence on May 1st, 5 years prior to when ther census was conducted
- Certificates, diplomas, titles, educational level, professional status
- Number of living children for each individual
Published census data consists mainly of statistics and does not include individual census data, which may be obtained from Direccion de Estadistica y Censos, Contraloria General de la Republica
Open: M-F 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Location: Edificio Contraloría General, Ave. Balboa, first floor, left side
Panama City, Panama
Telephones: 011-507-510-4777, ext. 4829 - 4830 ; 011-507-510-4829
1611-1808 Visitas de Tierra (Land Visits) - Real Audiencia (Royal Audience) of Santa Fe
These visits were a type of census conducted by the Real Audiencia of Santa Fe (Colombia). The visits were generally a response to reports of excess and abuse of Indians and were used to control colonial administration. Their main objective, however, was to set the basis for taxation.
These special general censuses of colonial times, include the provinces of
The census data is in a microfilm available from FamilySearch.
1740-1789 Miscelaneous Colonial Censuses
The following census records are available at the National Archive of History in Bogota, Colombia. They each include first and last names, sex, and age of each member of the family:
- 1740 Census of Nata
- 1777 Census of Portobello
- 1787-1789 Census of Darien