Poland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Poland

Poland Wiki Topics
Koszecin.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Poland Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Poland is Pysnaks and Sonja


Guide to Poland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Poland is a country in Central Europe bordered by Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine, Belarus, and Lithuania. Polish is the official language.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Poland Research

Links to articles on getting started with Poland research.

See More Research Strategies

Poland Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Poland research.

See More Research Tools


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Poland Map

Division of Poland into voivodeships and powiats (2007)

Jurisdictions

Poland is currently divided into 16 provinces known as voivodeships (Polish: województwa, singular województwo).

  • Greater Poland Voivodeship (wielkopolskie)
  • Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship (kujawsko-pomorskie)
  • Lesser Poland Voivodeship (małopolskie)
  • Łódź Voivodeship (łódzkie)
  • Lower Silesian Voivodeship (dolnośląskie)
  • Lublin Voivodeship (lubelskie)
  • Lubusz Voivodeship (lubuskie)
  • Masovian Voivodeship (mazowieckie)
  • Opole Voivodeship (opolskie)
  • Podlaskie Voivodeship (podlaskie)
  • Pomeranian Voivodeship (pomorskie)
  • Silesian Voivodeship (śląskie)
  • Subcarpathian Voivodeship (podkarpackie)
  • Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship (świętokrzyskie)
  • Warmian-Masurian Voivodeship (warmińsko-mazurskie)
  • West Pomeranian Voivodeship (zachodniopomorskie)[1]

More Poland Research Strategies

Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for the Poland.

More Poland Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in the Poland.

See More Research Tools

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Wikipedia contributors, "Poland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poland, accessed 23 March 2016.