|Slovakia Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Slovakia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Slovakia is a sovereign state in Central Europe bordered by the Czech Republic, Austria, Poland, Ukraine, and Hungary. It Slovakia became an independent state on January 1, 1993 when Czechoslovakia peacefully split into the Czech Republic and Slovakia. The area had been part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire until the end of the First World War when, in October 1918, the Czech lands of Austria (Bohemia, Moravia, and Austrian Silesia) joined with the Slovak and Ruthenian (Ukrainian) counties of Hungary to create the sovereign Republic of Czechoslovakia. The official language is Slovak.
Getting Started with Slovakia Research
Links to articles on getting started with Slovakia research.
Slovakia Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Slovakia research.
There were 20 counties (county = stolica/župa) of the Kingdom of Hungary situated completely or partly in present-day Slovakia. After the creation of Czechoslovakia, they continued to exist till 1922. Read Each region consists of districts (district = okres). There are currently 79 districts in Slovakia.
Since 2002, Slovakia is divided into 8 autonomous regions (region = kraj):
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Slovakia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia, accessed 23 March 2016.