Tunbridge Wells Holy Trinity, Kent Genealogy
Tunbridge Wells Holy Trinity was created as an Ecclesisatical Parish in 1833 from Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul, Kent.
The church was designed by architect Decimus Burton (1800-1881) and was the first Anglican church in the new Georgian town of Tunbridge Wells.
The church was de-commissioned and declared redundant in 1975. The building became Trinity Arts Centre in 1983.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Original deposited registers are held at:
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
Fax: 01622 694379
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.