U.S. Virgin Islands Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

North America Gotoarrow.png United States go to U.S. Virgin Islands go to Archives and Libraries

U.S. Virgin Islands Wiki Topics
Flag of the United States Virgin Islands.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Country Background
Ethnicities
Local Research Resources


National Archives at New York City
Alexander Hamilton U.S. Customs House
One Bowling Green
New York, NY 10004
Telephone: Toll-free 866-840-1752 or 212-401-1620
Fax: 212-401-1638
Internet: www.archives.gov/northeast

This branch of the National Archives has records created by federal agencies and courts in New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The archives has naturalization records, internal revenue service records, customs lists, and records of the U.S. District Court of Appeals. They also have microfilms of all available federal census records, many naturalization records, court records, passenger lists for New York City and other ports, Revolutionary War military records, some Civil War service indexes, and World War I draft registrations. The staff will make photocopies for a fee.[1]

Saint Thomas Island

Caribbean Genealogy Library
Al Cohen Plaza, Raphune Hill
Charlotte Amalie East
PO Box 366
St Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands 00804-0366
Telephone: 340-714-2136
E-mail: caribgenlibrary@gmail.com
Internet: Caribbean Genealogy Library
Hours: 2 pm to 5 pm Wed, Thurs and Saturday, call or e-mail to verify)

The Caribbean Genealogy Library has 5,000 books and a microform collection as well as computers for patron use. Family Search rental films may be sent here for local use.

Rigsarkivet

The Danish National Archives holds many records relating to the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Websites

References

  1. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 81. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.